Cinema Studies Graduate Minor

for the Graduate Minor in Cinema Studies

head of department: C.L. Cole


department website:

department faculty:

overview of grad college admissions & requirements:

college website: College of Media

department office: 119 Gregory Hall, 810 S. Wright St., Urbana, IL 61801

phone: (217) 333-1549

Programs in Cinema Studies

Undergraduate Programs:

major: Media & Cinema Studies, BS

minors: Cinema Studies | Critical Film Production | Media

Graduate Programs:

minor: Cinema Studies

The Graduate Minor in Cinema Studies promotes the graduate-level study of cinema and related screen media and their cultural and institutional contexts and offers formal recognition of such work, undertaken alongside and in conjunction with Illinois graduate students' primary fields of study.


Applicants to the Graduate Minor program must be in residence and in good standing in a qualifying master's or doctoral program at Illinois and must designate Cinema Studies as a field/area of concentration for the master's or the doctoral degree and have that designation formally accepted by the student's home department.

Applications to the Department Head are accepted on a rolling basis. The Department Head will monitor students' advancement toward completion of the Minor.

for the Graduate Minor in Cinema Studies

For additional details and requirements refer to the Graduate College Handbook

MACS 503Historiography of Cinema4
MACS 504Theories of Cinema4
Two graduate courses in cinema or related media, chosen with the prior approval of the Minor Advisor. (One of the two electives may be satisfied by an independent study course or by an approved graduate-level course taken at another institution.)6-8
Total Hours14-16

Other Requirements

The student's master's examination (if applicable) or preliminary /qualifying examination must include a Cinema Studies topic.
If the student's master's thesis or doctoral dissertation deals in whole or in part with a Cinema Studies or related screen media topic, a member of the Department of Media and Cinema Studies must be a formal member of the student's committee.